ECE: Electrical & Computer Engineering
ECE News

Faculty Honors & Awards

Arun Phadke

Photograph of Arun Phadkewas one of four professors honored with the “Docteur Honoris Causa di I’INP Grenoble.” The other honorees were Klaus von Klitzing from Stuttgart University (the winner of the 1985 Nobel prize in physics), Pravin Varalya from Berkeley, and Carlo Naldi from Politecnico di Torino.

Daan Van Wyk

Photograph of Daan Van Wykreceived the IEEE Power Electronic Society 2006 Distinguished Service Award, recognizing his exceptional dedication and outstanding service. He also received the 2006 IEEE Industry Applications Society Outstanding Achievement Award, for his contributions in the application of electricity to industry. Van Wyk retired in December 2005.

Tom Martin

Photograph of Tom Martinwas honored at the White House as a recipient of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), for his work in e-textiles. He is one of 20 researchers whose work is supported by the NSF to receive the award, which is the highest national honor for researchers in the early stages of their careers. Martin is ECE’s third PECASE winner, joining Sanjay Raman (2000) and Sandeep Shukla (2004).

Jason Lai

Photograph of Jason Laiwas named a Fellow of the IEEE for contributions to high performance high power inverters. Fellow is the highest level of membership in the IEEE and limited to 0.1 percent of the organization’s membership.

Jim Thorp

Photograph of Jim Thorpdepartment head and the Hugh P. and Ethel C. Kelly professor was awarded the 2006 Power Engineering Society Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award. Thorp came to Tech in 2004 after serving on the faculty at Cornell. He served as director of Cornell’s school of electrical engineering from 1994 through 2001.

Dushan Boroyevich

Photograph of Dushan Boroyevichwas named the American Electric Power Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, in honor of his record of research in the field of power electronics. The American Electric Power professorship was established to recognize excellence in the field of electrical power systems. Boroyevich’s major contribution is the creation of a unified methodology for modeling and controlling high-frequency switching power converters.

Anbo Wang

Photograph of Anbo Wangwas named the Clayton Ayre Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. The Ayre professorship was established to recognize research excellence. Wang is a pioneering researcher in the field of optical fiber sensors for application in harsh environments such as oil wells, power transformers, and jet engines. His research ranges from basic science to engineering innovations in the areas of photonics, nanophotonics, and biophotonics.