ECE News

Fall 2003
Power Monitor

 BioMed Option



 Bulleted Slides

R&D 100 Award

 FDA Symposium



 Night Clouds

 Head Letter

 Exemplary Award

 Faculty Retirements

 Faculty News

 Tucker Inducted

2003 Annual Report

Spring 2003


Fall 2003

Faculty Retirements

Ioannis Besieris retired this spring after 31 years with ECE and was named Professor Emeritus. Besieris is a specialist in theoretical electromagnetics and applied mathematics and received several outstanding teacher awards. In 1986 he was named a Fellow of the IEEE for contributing to the wave-kinetic theory and its applications to linear and nonlinear stochastic wave propagation.

He earned a B.S. in 1961 and and M.S. in 1963 from Wayne State University and a Ph.D. from Case Institute of Technology in 1966.

photo of Dan ChenDan Chen retired this spring and has been named Professor Emeritus. He joined the department in 1979 as a specialist in power semiconductor devices. This year, he was named a Fellow of the IEEE for his contribution to the basic understanding of switching power supplies. He holds six U.S. patents, with one pending. Chen has guided 16 masters and six doctoral students to completion. Chen received a BSEE in 1969 from the National Chiao-Tung University of Taiwan. He earned an MSEE in 1971 and a Ph.D. in 1975 from Duke University.
photo of Richard ConnersRichard Conners retired this spring and has been named Associate Professor Emeritus. Conners joined ECE in 1987 and served as director of the university’s interdisciplinary Spatial Data Analysis Laboratory. Conners’ work in inspecting hardwood lumber and detecting explosives in luggage led to two patents that form the basis of two commercial products. He has been actively involved in diversifying the the student body, faculty, and staff and served as director of ECE minority graduate recruitment and as a multicultural fellow for Virginia Tech. photo of David deWolfDavid de Wolf, who joined ECE in 1982, retired and has been named Professor Emeritus. An expert in theoretical electromagnetics and electron optics, de Wolf holds two patents and is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Optical Society of America. He provided much leadership to Tech, and served more than 10 years on the faculty senate, including as president. He also served as director of ECE graduate studies. He earned a BS in 1955 and an MS in 1959 from the University of Amsterdam and a Ph.D. in 1968 from the Technological University of Eindhoven.
photo of Gail GrayGail Gray retired this spring and has been named Professor Emeritus. Gray joined ECE in 1971 and established the department’s first microcomputer teaching laboratory. An expert in digital computers, he made significant contributions as one of the original researchers in fault-tolerant computing. He co-authored two textbooks on VHDL.

He earned a BS in 1965 and an MS in 1967 from West Virginia University. He earned a Ph.D. in 1971 from the University of Michigan.

Arun Phadke, a University Distinguished Professor, retired and has been named Professor Emeritus. He joined ECE in 1981 and directed both the Energy Research Group and Center for Power Engineering. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, a recipient of the IEEE Power Engineering Educator Award, and an IEEE Fellow. He earned a B.S. in 1955 from AGRA University, a B.Tech. in 1959 from the Indian Institute of Technology, an MS in 1961 from the Illinois Institute of Technology, and a Ph.D. in 1964 from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.
Privacy Statement | Contact Webmaster

© 2006 Virginia Tech Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Images on this site are the property of Virginia Tech.
They may not be used for commercial purposes.
Last updated: Tue, Nov 4, 2003