exit bar


Spring 2001



Faculty News

Moose Retires

Richard Moose, associate professor of electrical engineering, retired this month. He joined the faculty in 1972 after earning his Ph.D. from Duke University in 1971.

Moose has taught a variety of courses at Tech, including communications, systems and controls, and industrial electronics for non-majors. Over the years, students enjoyed the many examples he would work in class, along with his entertaining stories of military life and "real" engineers. His students have particularly appreciated his respect towards them and one-on-one assistance.

Moose's research interests have included nonlinear estimation and filtering, detection theory, and radar target identification. He has worked with the university's Systems Research Center, in which Tech researchers collaborate with scientists and engineers of the Naval Surface Warfare Center.
He earned a B.S.E.E. from Ohio University in 1964 and an M.S.E.E. in 1966 from the University of California, Berkeley. He is a senior member of the IEEE.

VanLandingham Retires

Hugh VanLandingham, professor of electrical engineering, retired this month. He joined the faculty in 1966 after earning his Ph.D. from Cornell.
VanLandingham has taught courses in all areas, but specialized in control systems and signal processing and is noted for his puns and straight-faced humor. He served as advisor for the Tennessee Eastman Controls project for many years.

VanLandingham's research interests have included process control, multivariable system control with emphasis in vibration reduction of modal systems, adaptive speech processing, and applications of artificial neural networks. Most recently, he served as director of the Intelligent Control Engineering Group, which delves into biologically inspired learning algorithms. He has also been active in multidisciplinary research, most recently in an effort to use fuzzy logic to control ship roll motion and ship-mounted cranes.

VanLandingham served as acting department head from 1989-1990. He is the author of three textbooks, Introduction to Digital Control Systems (Macmillan, 1985), Signals, Systems, and Transforms (Prentice-Hall, 1985 - with J.A. Cadzow), and Algorithms for computer-Aided Design of Multivariable Control Systems (Marcel Dekker, 1993 - with s. Bingulac).
He earned his B.E.E. in 1957 from North Carolina State University and M.S.E.E. in 1959 from New York University.

NSF Faculty Awards

Amy Bell has received an NSF Faculty Early Career Development Program award. Bell is researching methods of compressing and speeding up image transmissions;

Sanjay Raman has received an NSF Faculty Early Career Development Program award. He is developing single semiconductor chips that can house personal communications systems. Raman also received an Early Career Award from the White House; he was one of only 60 in the country to earn such an award.

Scientist of the Year

Rick Claus was named "Virginia Scientist of the Year," for his work in nanotechnology, fiber optics, and microelectronics. Claus is the director of the Fiber & ElectroOptics Research Center and associate director of the Optical Sciences and Engineering Research Center.

Two new books have been published by ECE faculty members. David de Wolf published Essentials of Electromagnetics for Engineering (Cambridge University Press, 2000) and Jim Armstrong and Gail Gray published the second edition of their textbook, VHDL Design Representation and Synthesis (Prentice Hall PTR).

Third Millennium Medals

Gary Brown, Ira Jacobs, Fred Lee, Saifur Rahman, Warren Stutzman, William Tranter, and Dann Van Wyk received the IEEE Third Millennium Service Medal.

The Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Virginia Tech

Last Updated, July 25, 2001
Questions or comments about the content: eqb@rightwordonline.com
Technical questions or comments: webmaster@ece.vt.edu