exit bar


Fall 1999



Faculty News

Lee, Phadke Awarded Top Academic Honor

Fred C. Lee and Arun Phadke have been named University Distinguished Professors, the highest academic honor the university can bestow on a faculty member.

Fred Lee
Lee serves as director of the Center for Power Electronics Systems, a recently formed NSF Engineering Research Center that involves five universities and more than 70 industry partners. His vision for CPES is to make the United States the most efficient user of electrical energy in the world and to guide the center's work during the next 10 years to produce a 30 percent saving in electric power consumption. His work as director of Virginia Tech's former Virginia Power Electronics Center (now part of CPES) provides a very strong foundation for this new endeavor. VPEC built one of the largest industry-university partnership programs in the country, with more than 100 major companies having participated at various times.

Lee has supervised to completion more than 55 masters-level and 36 Ph.D. students. He holds 20 U.S. patents and has published more than 120 journal articles and 300 technical papers. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a past president of the IEEE Power Electronics Society. He previously held the Lewis A. Hester Endowed Chair and the James S. Tucker Chair.

Arun Phadke
Phadke, who formerly held the American Electric Power Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Chair, serves as director of Virginia Tech's Center for Power Engineering, and the Energy Research Group. He has an international reputation as a power engineering educator and researcher.

In 1993, he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for his work in the digital control, protection, and monitoring of electrical power systems. Election to the Academy is among the highest professional honors accorded an engineer. In 1991, he received the IEEE Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award.

In the 1980s his group developed the synchronized phasor measurement unit, which is a microprocessor-based system that measures the voltages and currents at a power station, enabling the station to be operated more securely, more reliably, and more economically. The unit was commercialized in 1985 and is manufactured by Macrodyne. More than 200 devices have been installed worldwide. In 1999 he was named the winner of the Halperin Award (2000) by the IEEE for his work on digital relaying and synchronized phasor measurements.

He has authored or coauthored more than 100 technical papers and two textbooks, and has taught specialized courses in power system engineering around the world.


Promotions and New Hires

Dushan Boroyevich
Dushan Boroyevich has been promoted to full professor. An expert in medium- and high-power conversion, he serves as deputy director and Virginia Tech campus director of the Center for Power Electronics Systems, a multi-university NSF Engineering Research Center.

Boroyevich developed the department's senior capstone electronic design elective and an electronics course. An excellent classroom teacher, he has earned the Outstanding Teacher Award from the EE student honor society.

He earned his Ph.D. at Tech in 1986 and became an assistant professor at the Institute for Power and Electronic Engineering at the University of Novi Sad, Yugoslavia. He joined the Tech faculty in 1991.

He has coauthored more than 100 papers in technical journals and refereed conference proceedings. He serves as the publicity chair of the IEEE Power Electronics Society.

Lamine Mili

Lamine Mili has been promoted to full professor. Mili has served as a key player in the department's international programs. He established research and exchange programs with the Institut National Polytechnique De Grenoble (INPG) in Grenoble, France, and with Ecole Polytechnique Federale De Lausanne (EPFL), in Lausanne, Switzerland, and has promoted and organized faculty and student exchanges.

His current research interests include the development of new applications of statistical and control theories to power system problems. Along with other Virginia Tech faculty members and in collaboration with three other universities, he is working to develop techniques to make power systems more immune to major disruptions. He joined the Tech faculty in 1988 after serving in several industrial positions. He earned a BSEE from EPFL and graduate degrees at the University of Tunis, Tunisia, and the University of Liege, Belgium. He is the recipient of an NSF Research Initiation Award and an NSF Young Investigator Award.

Anbo Wang
Anbo Wang has been promoted to full professor. Founding director of the department's Photonics Laboratory, he is an internationally recognized researcher who has developed a number of successful optical fiber devices and sensors for applications where conventional sensors are difficult to apply. As a result of his work, Virginia Tech is now recognized as a leader in fiber sensors for harsh environments.

Wang joined the faculty as Visiting Assistant Professor in 1993 after serving three years as a research staff with the department's Fiber and Electro-Optics Research Center. He received his doctorate in applied optics from the Dalian University of Technology, Dalian, China, in 1990.

He has authored or coauthored 5 book chapters and more than 140 journal and conference papers, and holds 6 U.S. and foreign patents. He is also a chair of numerous SPIE/OSA/IEEE technical conferences and conference sessions.


Louis J. Guido
Louis J. Guido has joined the faculty as an associate professor with a joint appointment in ECpE and MSE. He comes to Tech from Yale, where he was on the faculty for 10 years, most recently as the John J. Lee Jr. Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering. He also spent several years as a Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Bell Laboratories.

Guido's research interests are in microelectronics, specifically in nucleation phenomena and kinetics of epitaxial crystal growth; self-diffusion, interdiffusion, and impurity diffusion in semiconductors; compound semiconductor alloys, heterostructures, and quantum wells; as well as the physics of optoelectronic devices operating at UV and FIR wavelengths.

He is a senior member of the IEEE. He has been awarded the NSF Presidential Faculty Fellowship and the Army Research Office Young Investigator Award. He earned his BSEE from the Polytechnic Institute of New York in 1982, and his MSEE and Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in 1983 and 1989 respectively.

The Bradley Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Virginia Tech

Last Updated, October 15, 1999
Questions or comments about the content: eqb@rightwordonline.com
Technical questions or comments: webmaster@birch.ee.vt.edu